IIT Roorkee Sets Up ISRO-IITR Space Technology Cell

  • S Somanath, Secretary, Department of Space & Chairman, Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) Government of India, graced the event as Chief Guest

On 8th May 2023, the Chairman of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) and Secretary of the Department of Space (Govt of India), S Somanath visited IIT Roorkee, inaugurated the Center for Space Science and Technology, released the book ‘Research Area in Space 2023’ and the Atlas (from IIRS Dehradun): Exploring Footprints of the Past Heritage Documentation – A Geospatial Approach. He also inaugurated the office premises for ISRO-IITR Space Technology Cell.

Prof KK Pant, Director, IIT Roorkee; Prof Apurba Kumar Sharma, Dean Academics Affairs, IIT Roorkee; Prof Sanjay Upadhyay, Head, CSST & Coordinator, ISRO-IITR Space Technology Cell; Sudheer Kumar N, Director, CBPO, ISRO; Dr MA Paul, Associate Director, RESPOND & AI, CBPO, ISRO; Dr Dipankar Banerjee, Director, Aryabhatta Research Institute of Observational Sciences (ARIES); Dr RP Singh, Director, IIRS, ISRO Dehradun; Dr Anil Bhardwaj, Director, PRL Ahmedabad; Dr Pramod Kumar, Dean (A) and GD, Water Resources and Urban Studies, IIRS; Dr Arijit Roy, Head Disaster Management Studies, IIRS & Programme Coordinator, CSSTEAP; Dr Prakash Chauhan, Director, NRSC, ISRO Hyderabad; Dr Rajashree Bothale, Deputy Director, NRSC, ISRO, Vinod M Bothale, Retd Associate Director, NRSC, ISRO; Dr SC Sharma, Retd Deputy Director, VSSC ISRO; Dr Bhanu Pant, Retd Group Director, VSSC, ISRO; AC Mathur, Retd Group Director, SAC, ISRO and other dignitaries were present during the inauguration event.

Somanath interacted with research scholars and faculty members during the poster presentation and discussed the 21 ongoing projects activities under ISRO-IITR Space Technology Cell.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *